My 2016

‘TIS THE END OF ANOTHER YEAR. 

To start off, I know that I haven’t written a post in 7 months, and it hurts. It honestly does. So much has happened in my life, and I’ve been busy trying to come to terms with reality. When I first created my blog, I promised myself that I would stay consistent. I told myself that I would schedule out parts of my week to write, and I would focus hard on bettering myself as a reader and as a writer. But instead, I stopped everything altogether. Yikes. I know.

But now that I am here, and I am typing this out with a partially fractured hand (more about this to follow), I guess I’ll pick up where I left off in May (and give y’all a few updates along the way):

Let’s begin.

1. Sophomore Year

*I was originally going to publish this as a separate post back in August/September, but alas, life got in the way (as it always does)*

The only word I can think of to describe me being a Sophomore is: unreal. 

I am at a loss for words for two reasons:

  1. Because I have now become a plain-old college student who’s not a freshman anymore (according to my sister, I have now become irrelevant)
  2. Because I’m turning 20 soon.

Twenty. 

I know that  I haven’t been able to write much lately, but this would be a good place to start telling y’all about how I’ve been feeling nowadays:

Stressed. That’s the word. Stressed about school. Stressed about my parents’ health. Stressed about not having time for myself. Stressed because I’m not getting enough sleep. Just a whole lot of stress. I know it’s not healthy, but I’ve been working on it. 

Yes, I am now officially a college Sophomore. It blows my mind that I started this blog in July of 2015–one month before my first year as a college student would officially begin. I remember being apprehensive when I decided to create a website, because I felt too exposed. I had never shared my personal feelings on such a public platform before, but honestly, I’m glad that I did. Writing has always helped me cope, and publishing posts served as a form of therapy for me.  

So, yeah. It’s been over a year since Sentiments of a City Dweller has been active, and I am almost half-way through with my college career. Lovely.

2. Dad

The last time I updated you all on this situation, he had just come home from a nursing home. He had stayed at the facility for about 5 months after suffering his second stroke–a stroke that completely paralyzed him. In January, he could not move a single part of his body other than his head, nor could he eat, drink liquids, or speak. It was tough. It still is, but he has recovered a lot alhamdulillah (thank/praise God). He’s been home for about 6 months, and so far, he’s been doing well. He’s eating now (on his own!), drinking liquids (we have to mix a thickening powder in his drinks so he doesn’t aspirate, but still), speaking much more clearly, and he’s even started walking a few steps with the help of a walker. Hopefully, he continues to improve.

Having a father who completely relies on other people for everything has had a huge impact on my family. Specifically, it’s caused my sister and I to mature at a young age.

So please keep him, and my family, in your thoughts and prayers.

3. Breaking my hand

Ugh.

I don’t want to talk about this for too long, because I get angry at myself. But in October, I tripped and fell on a sidewalk, and fractured one of my metacarpals in my right hand. It was painful, I had a cast on for a few weeks (during my midterms), and it still hurts. Next.

4. My grandfather passed away

Talk about a horrible year.

I also don’t want to talk about this for too long, because it genuinely upsets me. But he passed after being ill for a very long time. He was suffering from kidney failure, was on dialysis, and we knew it would happen eventually. It sounds a bit morbid (is it just me?) to admit that we were expecting him to pass, but it is what it is.

For those of you who don’t know, I was very close to my grandfather. He was my biggest supporter, and he is the reason I try my best at everything that I do. He was, and always will be, the most important person in our lives. And I loved him a lot. Always have, always will.

*SIGH*

All in all, 2016 sucked.

I chose not to to add Trump’s presidency in here, because it feels wrong to even mention him on my blog, but that really was just the cherry on top. 2016, you will not be missed.

But thank you to those of you who still support me and my blogging endeavors. Y’all know who you are. And although my 2016 was pretty bad, I did make some new friends. I also got my driver’s license, officially decided what I wanted to do with my life, walked the Brooklyn Bridge for the first time, went to Disney World and Universal Studios (which consists of THE WIZARDING WORLD OF HARRY POTTER) in Orlando with my sister (our first unsupervised vacation together. #AMAZING), celebrated our aunt’s very long-awaited wedding (which was equally as amazing), and managed to get great grades while dealing with a sick parent, a death, and a broken hand.

But tbh, I think that’s it. Everything else was either mundane, or just plain bad.

Anyways, I’ll see y’all (VERY SOON) because guess who’s opening up her memory jar tonight? This girl. (And this girl’s younger sister, but she’s also irrelevant)

CHECK OUT MY PRESERVING MEMORIES: MY 2016 MEMORY JAR POST TO SEE A DIY, AND MY OLD MEMORIES FROM 2015. I really have no idea what my sister and I have coming out of our jar this year, but we shall see. I’M EXCITED!

À la prochaine,

-Sara

P.S. I forgot to mention this, but I started to read again. I know it doesn’t sound significant to many of you, but it is important to me. Reading was my life until I hit college, and now that I am on break (God bless), I get to fall in love with words all over again. It feels wonderful.

OH AND IN CASE Y’ALL THOUGHT I HAD FORGOTTEN ABOUT SYRIA AND THE ATROCITIES THAT HAVE BEEN COMMITTED THERE, HERE IS A LINK TO DONATE TO THE UNHCR: Refugee Crisis

HERE’S ANOTHER LINK TO A SITE THAT LISTS A WHOLE BUNCH OF CHARITIES THAT ARE SPECIFICALLY SENDING AID TO SYRIA, AND A LINK TO ISLAMIC RELIEF’S WEBSITE: Charity Navigator and Islamic Relief

PLEASE DONATE. It is the least we can do. 

Leave a Reply

