My 2015

‘Tis the end of a monumental year.

A year filled with immense joy, unconditional love, intense anguish, and new beginnings. December is always thought of as a time to look back on the memories one has made, and the changes that have so subtly molded them into who they are today. It is a time of wishful thinking, and questionable resolutions.

2015, man.

That’s all I can say. Even the word ‘crazy’ seems like an understatement to describe this 365-day period of my life. Life flew by, and I watched myself evolve as a person.

I distinctly remember opening up my memory jar at 11:00 PM on December 31, 2014, and wondering how 2015 would compare to the miserable year that had finally come to a close. Although I did experience some setbacks, 2015 was a year filled with happiness, and a bucket load of surprises.

There isn’t much I can say about my year, other than what I have already told you. However, I thought it would be great to show everyone the adventures that I have been fortunate enough to experience, and the challenges that I have faced during a time of great changes.

So, here’s my 2015:


This year, I did some cool things:

For one, I graduated high school:

And I got my first job/supervised my first field trip with children:

IMG_5991
Bronx Zoo

IMG_5957

I also:

  • started college (and completed my first semester, whilst surviving my first finals week. Yikes): 
Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
This was my view.
  • met the man behind my favorite blog: Humans of New York (Brandon Stanton):
  • witnessed my mom go through a painful, unexpected surgery:

12095292_1002188093136866_6587014212368508043_o

  • cut my hair real short (I wanted to try something new, ya feel?):

  • tried Shake Shack for the first time (I have no words to explain this experience. It was just beautiful):  

IMG_0343

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Beautiful.
IMG_0402
#SaraWithNoH
  • bought a bunch of new books (and cleaned my shelves TWICE. I know that may not seem like much, but trust me. It was a struggle):
  • rode a roller coaster through the woods:

11928743_981057015249974_6066185158057279551_n

  • visited a bunch of amusement parks:

Visited some more awesome places in New York City, like:

  • The Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Albertine Bookshop (A.K.A. The most beautiful bookstore I have ever laid my eyes on):

  • The Metropolitan Opera House (I have watched over a dozen operas, and I have no regrets):
  • The Cloisters (probably my favorite place I visited in 2015. Mostly because it reminded me of Hogwarts):
  • The Morgan Library and Museum:

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

  • The View/ABC Studios (I will be going to see some more shows in 2016, so keep an eye out!):

  • Battery Park:
  • Bryant Park/the “main branch” of NYPL:
  • Sprinkles Cupcakes:
  • And many, many other fascinating places.

But most importantly, my biggest accomplishment of 2015 was starting this blog. Sentiments of a City Dweller has allowed me to reach out to thousands of people from around the world. It blows my mind that there are people out there who actually take time out of their day to read what I have to say. I’m so honored/lucky to do this, and I really hope I can keep doing what I do for a long time.

Here are some statistics about Sentiments of a City Dweller (courtesy of WordPress):

FullSizeRender-3

FullSizeRender-4

FullSizeRender-5

And this is my absolute favorite one:

FullSizeRender-6
23 countries. TWENTY-THREE. Here’s a list: United States, Pakistan, Poland, United Kingdom, Malaysia, Australia, Canada, South Korea, Germany, Italy, Montenegro, France, Japan Barbados, Russia, New Zealand, Dominican Republic, United Arab Emirates, Egypt, Ukraine, Israel, Sweden, and Malta. Amazing.

Thank you to all of my friends, family members, and readers for sticking by me as I used my voice to address the issues that exist in our world. Y’all are the real reason that 2015 will remain unforgettable.

I know that 2016 has a lot to bring, and I am excited to see what there is in store for all of us.

See you all in 2016! Happy New Year! 

-Sara

P.S: my New Years resolution is to write more. I went on a brief hiatus in November because of school, so I did not get to publish anything for over a month. And I really hope that doesn’t happen again.

Oh, and my sister and I will be opening up our 2015 memory jar tonight at 11:00 PM to bring in a new year. I will be writing a post on the jar, and sharing some more of those memories on my blog next week. Stay tuned.

IMG_0907
This is from my 2013 jar. I can’t wait to see what we find this year.
3 thoughts on “My 2015

Leave a Reply

